The Tavistock Clinic, or Tavi as it is more colloquially known, was founded  on 27 September in 1920 by Hugh Crichton-Miller. In the beginning it was the home of a small band of seven doctors. In addition to Hugh Crichton-Miller, the Honorary Director, there was: Dr JA Hadfield, Dr Mary Hemmingway, Dr Neill Hobbhouse (Neurologist), Dr Leslie Tucker , EA Hamilton Pearson, and Dr JR Rees.

Apart from the doctors, Mrs Leith-Ross served as Honorary Secretary of the Tavi for five years, before leaving to pursue a career in anthropology) and was there from the start, having found he location and provided much of the furniture for the new clinic.

From its founding the Tavistock Clinic had four aims:

  • Understanding and treatment
  • Research
  • Prevention
  • Teaching

The Tavistock Clinic was founded directly after World War 1 as a result of the experiences of that war. Several of the early clinicians at the Tavi had personal experience of working in the Army, treating cases of neurosis and it is unlikely that anyone in Britain would have been untouched by the effects of World War 1. Consequently when Hugh Crichton-Miller sought support for his project he found it, with prominent society members donating money and Earls Beaty and Haig, two Commanders in Chief of the Services, taking up positions as Vice-Presidents on the Board.

More about the founding – long-read

More about World War 1 – long-read

Comments are closed.